Skip to content

When real life & football collide.

April 21, 2013

Have you ever done the perfect season?

By that, I mean you have attended every League & competitive cup game for your team within that season. Now I know a few Brewers that have done this, but I won’t name you because you may not want to be named! But absolute top respect to you – especially those of you that did this when we were an average Southern League side (the old supporters club still deserve so much credit for all the hard work they did ensuring we got a coach/minibus to every away game in some seasons).

I never have. The closest I’ve come is 63/67 games in the Unibond 2001/02 season, the 4 games I missed being Frickley away (Tuesday night, couldn’t make the coach leaving in time), Hucknall at home (sickness bug when Dale Anderson scores 1 of the best goals Eton Park has seen!), Arnold away in the FA Cup (holiday); and Solihull at home in the BSC (ill again).

Since then the main factor to me not doing the ‘perfect season’ has been money. If i could afford it, I’d like to do as many games as I could.

But here’s the crack this season. I met Melissa in 2010, and on May 31st this year we get married.

Weddings aren’t cheap.

So my policy for this season was this – go to the away grounds I hadn’t been to before; Rotherham, Rochdale, Wycombe, York (long story!), Fleetwood. And also the cup games; Sheff Utd, Leicester (what a night), Coventry, Crewe, and Alty. I was on holiday for the Cup game at Bradford and was ill for Leicester away, but I’ve still managed 10 away games this season and I’m pleased with that.

But on day’s like today, I should be there. Bradford away, a big game in the promotion chase. I want to do anything I can to help our chances. I want to be there in the terraces, the stands, shouting as loud as I can, supporting the lads as much as I possibly can.

I wasn’t there.

And it all boil’s down to money. We’re in the play-offs, and that mean’s an away leg and possibly, (hopefully!) Wembley. That isn’t gonna be a cheap day!

I hope some of you can understand where I’m coming from here… to be honest I know that some of you will be able to completely empathise with me.

It wasn’t so long ago that near enough every penny I earnt went on watching the Albion; but real life takes over, and in this day and age with the Albion being a Football League club, it’s hard to do it all.

It frustrates me, but it’s the way it is.

Bring on the play-offs.

 

From → The Albion.

One Comment
  1. Imagine how expensive it is following a premier league team with the prices some clubs charge, but whatever you follow you’ve got to factor in petrol money/train fare, food, drinks, prostitutes…..no hang on scrub the last one. All-in-all footy is an expensive passion; I can’t afford to do it anymore.

Leave a Reply

