Skip to content

On this day…

November 25, 2012

…1995, I saw 1 of the most exciting football matches I ever saw at Albion’s old Eton Park ground.

25th November 1995; Burton Albion 3-3 Bamber Bridge in the FA Trophy 3rd Qualifying Round.

How do I know this was 17 years ago today?

Thanks to the old man.

My Dad has done a lot of Albion research over the last few years, and has been wondering what exactly to do with this information he’s gathered. I hope he speaks to the club and is able to get a book published; he’s done so much work, has so much interesting information, it’d be a shame for it to go to waste.

Anyway, last Christmas my Dad put all his Albion stats to good use and handed me something on Christmas day that would have any football-fact geek, such as me, creaming into their Christmas pudding.

It was a 2012 diary, and on each date he had written every single Albion result for the games we had played on the said date.

A task the old man thought would only take weeks, took him at least a couple of months.

And I was grateful. He didn’t have to do that for me, and it’s something I’ll treasure and cherish, because like I said, I’m a total geek when it comes to stats on all things Albion.

So, I have this book filled with every competitive (and most non-competitive) result the Albion have recorded in their history, since 1950 when the club was founded. (Good job we weren’t founded back in the 1890’s, hey Dad!)

I updated it at the end of the 2011/2012 season. Albion fans will empathise with me when I say what a depressing task that was. The April 14th page has tear-stains from where I had to record “Bristol Rovers 7-1 Albion”.

And it’s something I shall continue to update, no matter if it’s a friendly, a Birmingham Senior Cup tie at Romulus, or a depressing 3-0 defeat away to Wycombe (such as yesterday) they’ll all end up in my Albion ‘bible’.

Anyway. A couple of weeks back, I thought “there’s gotta be more I can do with all this info…”

So I mused, and pondered, and mused a bit more… then decided I could start a new Twitter account.

So I did. “BAFC On this day…” (have a look, and click ‘follow’)

2 weeks on, the page has 131 followers. These include former players Chris Hall, Glenn Kirkwood, and Danny Robinson, now plying his trade in the New Zealand top division.

I tried to keep it a secret it was me doing it at first, but I got rumbled pretty early doors and couldn’t blag that it wasn’t me when we went away to Alty in the Cup replay.

The lads said they were all enjoying it though, the daily trips down memory lane, and my Dad’s chuffed that I’ve found a good use for the book.

So… 17 years ago today?

I was 9 years old, we had Bamber Bridge who were running away with the Northern League as we laboured away, mid-table in the Southern League.

Bamber Bridge were 3-0 up in the 2nd half, and I’ll always remember a bird flying low over the ground (sod knows what bird, it was white I know that…) “could be a sign we’re gonna come back”, joked my Dad.

Darren Stride made it 1-3.

Jason Rhodes made it 2-3.

Darren Stride made it 3-3.

I think Stridey’s equaliser was a header; but I know I went ballistic. 9 years old and loving it.

All in the space of 15 minutes, we had completed an unlikely comeback, and the old Brook End was rocking… (not as much as it would be in the next round versus Telford United, but that’s another story)

The crowd was 964 that day, we could always pull in a decent crowd for the Trophy, a competition close to Albion fans hearts…

So there you have it, 17 years ago right now I was a very happy 9 year old, and would have been sat with a big smile on my face awaiting Noel’s House Party. (none of this X-Factor crap back then)

If you’re on Twitter, give ‘BAFC On this day’ a follow.

Up the Brewers.

From → The Albion.

2 Comments
  1. What a top prezzie. Really enjoyed this post too, I’m surprised you write so well because you Burton boys don’t half talk funny!

  2. Reblogged this on Danny Breslin and commented:
    Check this out: obvious talent for writing and a passion for his subject.

Leave a Reply

